What GoToob means … 🤔

IMG_6833

GoToob is the civilized, smart, squeezable tube for outdoor activities. The award-winning and patented GoToob is made from soft yet rugged silicone, so it’s easy to squeeze out all of the contents. A large opening makes it easy to fill and clean. And it’s airplane carry-on approved, food-safe (FDA), and 100% BPA and PC-free.

Well, it’s that. A civilized, squeezable tube.

It’s also a signal that I am back outdoors cycling. You see, I make my own gels for cycling. I prefer all natural ingredients, and over the years, have refined a recipe for rides lasting longer than an hour that looks something like this –

  1. Juice of 1 medium Lemon
  2. Juice of 1 Lime
  3. 4 larges Dates
  4. Large handful of Raisons
  5. A tablespoon of Peanut Butter
  6. A tablespoon of Salt
  7. 1 cup of Water (the water used to soak the dates and raisons)
  8. 1/4 cup of filtered, black Coffee

The recipe fills 3 GoToob 89 ml tubes. Depending on effort expended, I try to consume 1  tube each hour. I only have 2 tubes right now, so cannot cycle longer than 2 hours 😂 I lost 2 tubes last year when I had that high-speed crash, and have been meaning to replace them. Now that I’m outside more frequently, I had better make a trip to MEC to purchase a few more tubes.

I’ve tried a variety of other packaged gels and bars but they upset my stomach, particularly on long, hot rides. I sometimes use Cliff Bars but find them too sweet, difficult to open when cycling, difficult to chew, and subsequently difficult to swallow. On the other hand, my homemade gels are easy to access, easy to swallow, easy to digest, and considerably less expensive than pre-packaged alternatives.

If you have a recipe you like, please let me know. I’m always interested in finding a better solution ☕️🍋🍓🍇🍚

One thought on “What GoToob means … 🤔

Leave a Reply

