First ride of the year …

2016 began the same way 2015 ended, only longer.

Chas and I did a 80 km workout around the city enjoying the cool but clear weather, stopping at our favourite watering hole, JJ Bean, for a customary, mid-ride coffee and wrap.

I can think of no better way to start the year.

Chas’s new drive train and tires stood the test of several lengthy climbs and fast descents. He is a wonderful ride despite his 35 years. His steel frame and new, wider 28 mm tires make a big difference on the bumpy city streets and bike paths. A steel steed. I feel like I could ride with him forever.

We are quite the pair, Chas and I. Long past our prime but intent on being outside, continually challenging ourselves, and discovering new roads to share. I think we have a long trip left to make, one last epic ride to places we have never seen before. But that is for another time.

Today is about a new start, and new possibilities. Chas and I re-traced a familiar route but in a new way. He was better dressed with his new chain, cassette and tires. And I start this new year with a more open mind. I am finished with work. Retired. I’m not certain what that may look like. All I know is that I am looking forward to spending even more time with Chas, Lou, and Thatch. We have a few trips and cycling events planned but I’m open to new possibilities. New places. New people. New challenges.

Today I was introduced to Kajsa Tyler, a young British woman set on breaking the women’s world record for the Furthest Distance Cycled in a Year. The current record (29,603 miles) was set in 1938 by Billie Dovey on a 3-speed bike. Think about that for a moment. 29,603 miles. That’s 47,641 kilometres – 131 km each and every day for 365 days. That is a lot of cycling.

Setting a new world record is certainly not on my Cycling Bucket List but Billie and Kajsa are an inspiration for us all.

I’d like to make a toast. Here is to a new start. Happy pedalling and may the wind always be at your back.

🙂

8 thoughts on “First ride of the year …

  1. It looks more than a few of the cyclebloggers had the same idea for NYD!

    May you achieve your happy pedaling for the rest of the year.

  2. I can’t imagine doing those kilometres…day after day…on a three speed bike. Have a great new year and enjoy the freedom of retirement, but never stop striving for something.

  3. Cheers! I have brought back with me a bottle of Bulgarian spirit called “Rakia” – 40% alc. Not my favourite but I’d be willing to share a glass with you if you fancy? It’d warm you up after that whooper of a 80km ride in, I presume, not the warmest of weather?

    • I’d love to share a glass of Rakia with you!

      It was cold yesterday – 2 Celsius – but I enjoyed it. I’ve learned to dress properly and would prefer to be outside when it is sunny than sit on the couch.

      I’m pleased to hear that you plan to pot more frequently this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

