When did Remembrance Day become a Statutory Holiday?

IMG_3964

This morning started as usual. I got out of bed, made coffee, watched the morning news, showered, dressed for the day, got on my bike, and headed to the office. I was a little later than usual, and was surprised on how little traffic was on the road. I thought, “I’ll have to leave at this time every day”. As I approached the office, I noticed the car park was empty, and there were few cars parked on the street.

When did Remembrance Day become a stat holiday?

As a kid, I remember having a minutes silence precisely at 11 am during geometry class. I remember this because I had a crush on my teacher and I liked watching her standing at the front of the class, right next to my desk, with her head bowed in remembrance.

No matter. It is a beautiful, sunny day, and there is a Remembrance Day ceremony in the waterfront park next to the office. I’ll cycle over. listen to the 21 gun salute, and then head out for a ride remembering family members that served in the World Wars.

 

4 thoughts on “When did Remembrance Day become a Statutory Holiday?

  1. I’d forgotten that it’s often called Remembrance Day. Someone else mentioned Armistice Day. I like both of those, but I’m sort of a traditionalist. Nice write up. Thank you.

  2. That’s interesting – it’s not a statutory holiday in the UK and one of the things I love about it is those two minutes of complete peace and silence at 11. As kids the somnolence of it all really affects you and as an adult it is a moment to stop work, lean back in your chair, and spend those two minutes deeply thinking about that sacrifice – something that is absolutely nothing to do with my job or at all with me. Making it into a holiday somehow makes it less solemn!

    • You are right. I was raised in Ontario where it is not a holiday, and although I have been here for many years, I still think of Remembrance Day as a few private, poignant moments of silence thinking of all the men and woman that sacrificed their lives so I might live in peace.

Leave a Reply

