Cottage time …

P1070278

WindowCam (June 25, 2015)

Cottage time is different time.

Everything slows down. There is no rush. I get up and go to bed with the sun. There is no TV to intrude. I have stopped wearing a watch. It has no purpose. There are no meetings, or scheduled events. I eat when I am hungry, not on a schedule. Projects that might take a day or two, may take a week. And, it doesn’t matter.

I notice I walk more slowly, and more relaxed. My shoulders are down and my arms swing freely. I sleep longer, from 10 PM to 7 AM without exception. I work more slowly, but more thoroughly. I am seldom frustrated, or angry with anything. I take pleasure preparing food. And, eating.

The only time I move quickly is when I’m on the bike, and even then I am not working as hard as I might.

No, cottage time is different time. Even Chas and Lou are more relaxed. They rest in the big room with a view of the water and never badger me for a ride. Don’t get me wrong. They love rolling on these roads. It’s just they are content not to be working hard all of the time.

IMG_3072

One of the roads on the today’s ride (June 26, 2015)

Chas: “Lou. Lou! Wake up. We found a great ride for you today. You’ll love it. It’s a 45 km time trial. Flat. Smooth. Scenic. Quiet. Hardly any cars. And, no need to stop. You’ll love it. Big Guy was so excited. He can’t wait to take you out.”

Lou: “Ya? I’m ready. Rested. I wonder if I can still keep my balance?”

Chas: “The roads cut through farm land to the big lake and then along the water for 10-12 km. You’ll love it. We went fast. You will be much faster. Get ready. You are going to have to work hard.”

Lou: “Finally.”

2 thoughts on “Cottage time …

Leave a Reply

