We made it …

IMG_3004

Well, we made it.

Six days, 4,300 km, and continuous, breathtaking scenery. I have criss-crossed this continent a dozen times or more, across Canada, up and down both the east and west coast of the US and numerous points between. I never tire of seeing how vast, grand and diverse this continent is.

Chas: “I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. I did’t see a f**k’n thing.”

I took an extra day or two this trip. I was in no hurry and stopped most days about 4-5 pm so I would have lots of time to find a camping spot, shop if necessary, and enjoy a simple, relaxing  meal. I stayed in both private and municipal campgrounds with washrooms, showers, and in some cases, wi-fi.

Lou: “I’m glad you could clean up. The bugs and road dirt pounded my wheels. My beautiful carbon wheels.”

The boys survived. It was a long time for them not to move but they didn’t complain.

Chas: “How could you tell? You were in your warm, quiet cab listening to love ballads all day. You weren’t listening to me. I was screaming at the top of my stem while you were tapping your foot to the sounds of the classics.”

I have an eclectic LP and CD collection dating back 30 years, but I don’t listen to them much these days preferring the music streaming services, particularly Sonza. That is until I take a road trip. I have a 6 CD changer in the car, enough for hours of music. But what CD’s do I take. I gave it a lot of thought. I wanted music that was relaxing, inspirational, and positive. I was going to be in the car for a long time without radio service.

In the end, I decided to take my collection of Rod Stewart, Michael Buble, Evlis, and Frank Sinatra ballads. I played them every day and never tired of them. In fact, I enjoyed them so much, I plan to purchase a CD player for the cottage. I only have a radio here. I enjoy it for the local news, but quickly tire of all of the ads.

Chas: “You were reminiscing about love and I was on a hate rant.”

I enjoy most music – folk, jazz, ballads, classical, indie, and softer rock and roll. The only music I really don’t like is hard rock. But the classic ballads kept alive by the likes of a Rod Stewart and Michael Buble are easy, inspirational listening.

Lou: “All I heard was wind and road noise. A lot of noise. I think I’m deaf.”

The boys are feeling better. They are standing proudly under a topographical map of the surrounding area with their favourite routes outlined.

IMG_3010

 

Chas: “Hey Lou! Who do you think will get the first ride?”

13 thoughts on “We made it …

    • It was remarkable.

      I travelled by myself this time but hope to have company when I head back at the end of the summer. I don’t drive when I am in the city. I bike almost exclusively but I need a vehicle at the cottage. It is relatively remote with few services nearby. And, I have a number of projects in mind that require wood to frame a wall, trips to the dump with yard trimmings (a lot of yard trimmings), and I need food. I usually fly and rent a vehicle but that is expensive on an extended trip like this.

      It’s funny, I go carless in the city and have for years. Here I cannot manage without a vehicle for very long. The closest town is 10 km away and it is limited. The major centre is 35-40 km away.

      I tell you this because I don’t want you to think to badly of me for owning a vehicle given your commitment to remain carless.

      • You don’t have to say all of that! I totally understand. We’re in a car club and we book the car at least once a month so we’re not completely carless. I also choose to be carless because it makes me happy and not because I’m trying to do something good. I’ve always wanted to live without a car. Walking and cycling from place to place makes me so much happier than sitting inside a car. It was a lifestyle choice.

      • I only mention it because when my kids were young, we were carless too. But as they got older, and more active, it became increasingly more difficult to cart them to soccer practices and games harder to shop for food. By the time they were teenagers, we were all going in different directions. Now they are grown and out of the house, I have returned to a carless life for the most part.

    • I haven’t told the boys but I will ride Chas first. He started rolling in these parts 30 years ago. There is even a picture of him on the cottage wall taken during his first build which included Cinelli bars and stem, and a Brooks saddle, the same saddle I use on my commuter today. I am looking over at him now and he is panting like a dog ready to rush outside.

    • Thank you. I am pleased you enjoyed it. Yes, the boys are getting anxious. I spent the day cleaning and food shopping. I need a day or two to open the cottage for the first time each season. Chas and Lou kept looking at me as if to say “Let’s go!”.

  1. “I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. I did’t see a f**k’n thing.”

    You make me laugh!
    I would love to go on a road trip like this one day. The solitude, the music and the landscape rolling before your eyes sounds like a perfect combination.

Leave a Reply

