How to train for long rides

For those of you who follow this blog, you know that I have been preparing for the Pacific Populaire, the first century ride of the season in these parts. I have been doing this ride for several years. It keeps me motivated throughout the cold, wet winter months.

I subscribe to the Global Cycling Network (GCN) YouTube channel and receive regular emails when new items are posted. Look what arrived in my Inbox this morning. Just in time.

I follow these tips. I gradually extend my commute home 3-4 times a week doing 30-50 km depending on the time I have available. And, now that the weather is warmer, I ride to the office on an empty stomach. I have discovered over the past several years that using my commute time to train has greatly increased my endurance.

If you don’t already subscribe to the GCN and, are a road cyclist, I strongly recommend you do. Their videos are helpful and entertaining.

9 thoughts on “How to train for long rides

  1. Didn’t really train for my recent 150 km ride, it just sort of happened. In the lead up I did do a lot of steep hills and distances up to 80 km. seemed to do the trick. I am sure the train journey in the middle helped though.

    • I would think the train trip in the middle did help. I find once I am back on the road regularly 100-150 km rides are fine (even easy) provided I am not trying to race.

    • The idea is you burn fat stores while you are still fasting. In the cooler weather I certainly need breakfast first. As it warms up I hold off, take a longer route to the office and then eat a good breakfast.

      Cyclists can obsess with their weight. The idea is the lighter you are the faster you can ride, particularly climb. I am not that competitive but like most my age could lose a few pounds.

  2. Cool, I have been training for endurance rides without realizing it, I don’t eat breakfast until after I get to work. I have also wondered if my work day is good for endurance training. Ten miles in, work on my feet all day, then ten miles home. I want to put my stamina to the test in these spring months.

  3. Thanks for sharing this. Time is definitely an issue for me, so making what little I have as effective as possible is a very big deal. I’m going to try riding to work on an empty stomach next week and see if I can make it without bonking. My body doesn’t seem to like going too long without food, but it’s worth a shot to see if it will work for me.

Leave a Reply

