So now what?

Creatures

Look what I found during yesterday’s ride. Creatures in the park.

Last week I completed an 8 week cardiovascular training program prescribed by the American College of Sports Medicine. It was a focused and intense effort. Clearly, my fitness level has improved. So, what is next? What do I do to maintain, or even improve,  this fitness level? What new goals do I have?

I believe in having short term goals. New goals every 1-2 months. They keep me focused and motivated. Without them, I am too easily distracted. This month, I plan to complete the Pacific Populaire, the first century ride of the season in these parts. My heart, lungs and legs are ready. My butt, not so much. I have not completed enough longer rides to think I am ready. This month, I need to complete several long rides to toughen my butt. Each weekend, I plan to ride progressively longer distances – 50, 65, and 75 km rides. I’ll keep up the spinning workouts several times a week. I can get a lot done in a relatively short period of time. And, I’ll keep up with strengthening routine several times a week as well. The squats and planks have made a significant difference. This weekend I added a few more core exercises and, once I week, I do a session of core only exercises for 30-45 minutes.

So that’s the plan. More of the same, except with more time outside on the road bikes.

So, what do these creatures have to do with March’s training plan? Well, training is my  antidote. The way I fight off the perils of a sedentary, urban life. The way I quell those self destructive thoughts. The way I silence self-talk. The way I find answers. And, the way I quiet those creatures within.

7 thoughts on “So now what?

  1. ” training is my antidote. The way I fight off the perils of a sedentary, urban life. The way I quell those self destructive thoughts. The way I silence self-talk. The way I find answers. And, the way I quiet those creatures within” —- Beautifully said ❤ !

    • I know! They greet visitors to the local community centre where there is a library (where I work on Mondays), a hockey rink, pools(s), a gym and a variety of meeting rooms. I have become a big fan of the public art here.

  2. Pingback: Cycling Happiness and Reasons to Bike Ride | DR. MARTHA ANDREA CASTRO NORIEGA, MD, UEBD, CMT

Leave a Reply

