Excellent in 3 week(s)

ParkArt

These pictures have nothing to do with this post. I just like them. Sometimes, when I travel a different path, I discover something remarkable. Like these over-sized jelly beans.

Well, I will be “Excellent in 3 week(s)”. I have been following the workout routines prescribed by the American College of Sports Medicine. I am 5 weeks into this 8 week program doing the workouts on a spinning bike.

I have to say, I like the program. It is integrated with my Suunto heart rate monitor coaching and motivating me daily. This “coach” on my wrist tells me when to workout, when to rest and how hard to work. It’s brilliant.

I have come to realize that training with a heart rate monitor is the best and fastest way to improve. There is no cheating. You heart rate measures your body’s response to stress, to exercise.The fitter you become, the less effort required under normal loads. Hills become easier to climb. You can maintain a face pace for longer periods of time.

I have 3 weeks left. And then what? I am not certain. My “coach” will tell me. For now, I am enjoying the workouts. They are hard. Each week they get harder. But I see steady improvement. What was once “Very hard” is now just “Hard”. Over the 8 week period, the work load has steadily and slowly increased. I am fitter, stronger and losing a little weight.

Yesterday was a “Rest Day”. I seem to get more of them than in the earlier weeks. Today, is a “Very Hard” day. I will be working near my maximum heart rate for 30 minutes. At this point, this is more difficult than climbing one of our local mountains – steeper and faster.

Just 3 weeks left.

10 thoughts on “Excellent in 3 week(s)

  1. Suddenly, after taking a closer look at the photos you shared – I’m compelled to dust off my trials bike in the basement! Those colorful jelly beans look like a lot of fun. Keep up your inspiring work – Take care!

  2. Umm…I really hate being the bearer of bad news but those aren’t giant jelly beans, they are dinosaur eggs. You may want to consider relocating to a city that doesn’t include ready-to-hatch giant reptiles, just a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

