Skateboard Park

I cycled past the local skateboard park the other day.

It was raining and there were no boarders. That was unusual. The park is usually a buzz with teenage skateboarders and young children playing in the adjacent playground. Even toddlers on tricycles navigate the course. Normally it is a happening place. Not that day. It was too wet and cold.

I stopped, as I often do. To watch mostly. I admire the skill of these kids. Not this time. This time, I stopped to examine, reflect and, photograph. I was captivated by the sensual shapes, graduated shades of grey and reflections on the wet, smooth surfaces.

I saw the park differently. As art. A piece of sculpture blocks from home.

A gallery of sorts.

Leave a Reply

