I have been preparing for wet weather.

Screen Shot 2014-11-12 at 5.59.30 PM

It is November. I have been preparing for wet weather cycling. Tuning the commuter. Getting all of my wet weather clothing sorted out. But look what has happened. Mother nature has dished out a week of clear blue skies with unseasonably cold temperatures. There is no rain in the forecast for at least a week. Now I am sorting out my cold weather cycling gear.

It is usually not this cold in these parts. The trick is to layer clothes. Everywhere. On a bike, there is always wind so, the actual temperature is always lower. There is always wind chill. Seven degrees at 25 kph feels more like -2 degrees.

Out came the toques, winter gloves, woollen base layers, wool socks and wind resistant booties. I find that if my head, neck, hands and feet are warm, I can manage the cold. I actually enjoy it. It is an adventure. There are few cyclists on the road in this weather. It’s unfortunate. They do not know that they are missing.

If you want to increase your cycling mileage, you need to ride in all weather conditions including cold weather. This is not the time of year to hang up your bike. No. It’s the time to prepare for wet and cold rides. It’s all about having the right clothing. It takes time. And, there is a cost. But the way I look at it, the more I am on the bike, the less I am in the car or on the couch. And, that’s gotta be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

