Bolsover | Toronto visit

Yesterday was a rest day.

Well, sort of.  I didn’t cycle. Instead, I drove to the “city” for meetings.  It was anything but a rest.  It is a 1.5 hour drive to Toronto.  I walked around downtown rushing from one meeting to the next, had dinner with a friend, and then drove back.  I left at 9:30 am and was back at 11:00 pm.  It was a long tiring day.

I was downtown in the business core and was struck by the number of bicycles.  It seemed that every tree and sign post had a bike (or more) locked to it.  Clearly, there are an insufficient number of bike racks.  And, I was struck how dangerous it is to cycle downtown.  There is a lot of traffic, the streets are narrow and, there are no bike lanes.  Cyclists share the road with cars, trucks, a lot of taxi cabs and, pedestrians.

I used to cycle these streets regularly.  I didn’t really feel safe on them 30 years ago.  I wouldn’t ride them today.  I have been spoiled with the bikeways and traffic calmed streets in Vancouver and a pro-cycling local government.

The poor cycling infrastructure has not deterred Toronto cyclists.  There are a lot of them.  And, I am certain outside the downtown core there are more favourable streets and pathways.

I’ll be back on the bike today on the quiet country roads.  Sun and warmer weather is forecast for the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

