Bolsover | Day # 10

A cold front slid in overnight.  It’s cold.  9 Celsius.  But sunny.  After a quick breakfast, I was anxious to get on the road.  Rain is expected again tomorrow and I want to increase my work load this week.

The cold called for a long sleeve base layer, arm warmers, leg warmers, a shell and a cycling hat.  The first 10 km I maintained a good pace but my hands were cold.  Oh how I wish I had brought my fingered gloves.  Once I was warmed up it wasn’t too bad.  I selected a route that kept me in the sun 75% of the time.  I was feeling pretty cocky maintaining a steady 30 kph pace until I turned east for the 10 km home stretch.  Where did that come from?  A headwind.  And, not a little one.  There were sections of road where I could barely maintain 15 kph.  Ugh!  It felt like a long climb.

I have improved my headwind riding skills.  I noticed a headwind doesn’t bother me a much as it did in the past.  My pedal stroke has improved as a consequence.  I notice that it is more “circular” not just into the wind or climbing but all of the time.  And, I am more comfortable on the drops.  It seems I am down there most of the time these days.  I even climb on the drops.  It never felt comfortable before but it does now, particularly when climbing into the wind.

I read a lot here. I have already finished 2 novels.  There is no TV and no one to talk to.  I got to thinking.  I have always enjoyed ready but do it seldom except when I am at the cottage.  I purchased a large screen TV some years ago and it consumes way too much of my time when I am at home.  I don’t miss it.  I keep up to date with all the news thanks to CBC Radio.  I don’t miss the morning weather reports.  My cell phone app is actually better and more accurate.  I can refer to it anytime.  And, there is no need for a traffic report here.  There is never more than one other car on the road in these parts.  So, when I return, I am going to make reading a priority.  I have a stack of unread books waiting for me.  Novels.  Biographies. And, a selection of how-to books.  How to make a kayak.  Something I have always wanted to do.  Maybe that is what I will do this winter when the days get short and wet.  It would sure beat sitting in front of the TV.

The forecast has improved.  It is calling for clearing in the afternoon and sun.  t looks like I will get a ride in.

Leave a Reply

