Have you ever wondered what size road bike to ride?

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 4.15.39 PM

I discovered this chart today.  It was reassuring to learn that my 54 cm carbon frame is the correct size.  I am 5′ 9″ with a 30″ inseam.  I never doubted it.  The bike felt correct from day one.  30 years ago, I purchased a custom 21″ bespoke English touring frame.  A 54 cm frame.  I know what the right size feels like.

Not everyone purchases bikes from a shop or is sized in advance.  Many purchase used bikes or shop on-line for the best deal.  Unfortunately, the best deal may not be the best fit.  I know one such individual who got a great deal on a bike sight unseen and he is now struggling to make it fit.

There are many things to consider when purchasing a bike but at least know your correct frame size.  The chart above is a good start.

Leave a Reply

