Compression Socks

I was given a pair of knee-high, compression socks for Christmas last year.  My first pair.  As usual, I was sceptical, didn’t think I needed or, would appreciate, them.

Does compression technology help the recreational athlete?

The jury is still out.  There is little scientific evidence that compression aids in recovery or performance.  All I know is that I like the feel and think I have more energy when I wear them.  It may be in my head.  Maybe not.  I can’t prove it one way or the other.

I do know this.  I have peripheral neuropathy – a condition affecting the nerves in my feet.  In my case, there is no apparent cause.  The nerves simply stop working properly.  I am fortunate.  I have minor impairment and the condition has not been worsening.  What I have learned is that the compression socks help.  I seem to have more feeling in the feet and they seem not to tire as quickly.

If you have not tried compression socks yet, I would suggest you do.  You may be surprised the way I have been.

Leave a Reply

