5 things I do before every training ride

For me, every ride is a training ride.  Or, at least I try to make it one.  Even on my daily commutes, I challenge myself to climb each of the hills in a higher gear than the day before.  I time myself between flat, non-stop checkpoints.  So, I do not like to ride on a dirty, rattly bike.  I like to change gears easily and smoothly.  I like (and need) to stop quickly and effortlessly.  I need a clean and well tuned machine.  So every weekend (sometimes more frequently), I clean my bikes from top to bottom, tightened all of the bolts & cables and lubricate the moving parts, particularly the chain.  I like it and so do the bikes.
Leave a Reply

