I completed the 2013 Canada Day Populaire

CanadaDayPopulairePinI completed the 2013 Canada Populaire, a 146 km ride from Fort Lanley to Cultus Lake and back organized by the BC Randonneur Cycling Club.  This is an annual ride on Canada Day featuring a kilometer for each year of confederation.

This is my longest to date.  In fact, my longest ride in a decade or more.  I have been training for, and enjoying these longer rides.  First, it was the Pacific Populaire on April 7, 2013, a 100 km ride again organized by the BC Randonneur Cycling Club.  Then, I cycled The West Maui Loop, a difficult but inspiring 100 km ride around the small volcano on Maui island in May 2013.  One of my goals this year was to ride and enjoy a 100 km ride.  I have done that and, more.  I like these rides and want to continue training for them.

My next goal, is to tackle Cypress Mountain, a 13 km climb up the local mountain.  The Canada Day Populaire included an 8 km climb up Sumas Mountain in Langley.  I was told this climb is steeper and more difficlt than Cypress.  I am about to find out.

5 thoughts on “I completed the 2013 Canada Day Populaire

  1. I love the long rides too – my longest was a solo 200km last year fall (unsupported). My “favorite” distance is between 100k and 130k though. Congratulations and good luck at the same time.

  2. Pingback: An early start | PedalWORKS

Leave a Reply

