Form is more important than technology

We all know this fellow.  He is the one that in a singular act stops us in our tracks to contemplate his profundity the rest of our lives.

When my sons were young, I was anxious to teach them the game of golf.  I was raised playing the game and, to this day, enjoy the never ending challenge, the beauty of a course at sunset and the camaraderie of fellow players.  I wanted my sons to share in this.  To this end, I would visit the local course in the summer evenings to play a few holes with them.  As luck would have it, we befriended one of the course marshals who let us on the course without paying.  He understood the expense with young children.  And, he understood the life lessons the game teaches.

One evening with long shadows cast across the undulations, the marshal asked to join my sons and me to play the last few holes.  As we stood on the tee box he said “wait while I get my clubs from the car”.  A few minutes later, he returned with 3 worn clubs – a 5 iron, 9 iron and putter.  I asked “That’s all?” as I picked up my club-filled bag.  He replied, “That’s all I need”.  I won’t belabour the point.  This elderly marshal proceeded to par or birdie each of the remaining holes, striking the ball effortlessly and with uncanny precision.

This was a humbling, enlightening experience; one of those profound moments you never forget.  Twenty years later I marvel at this man’s skill and, more importantly, his attitude toward the game.  In the time it took to play three holes, I learned a most important life lesson.  In the pursuit of golfing excellence, the swing is more important than the clubs, the technique more than the technology.

The same can be said of LinkedIN.  It must be used with discretion and purpose like other marketing channels.  How you use it is more important than simply using it.

There is more to this story.  As I befriended the marshal and played with him more, I learned of an amazing story of resilience and perseverance.  But this is for another post.

One thought on “Form is more important than technology

  1. Pingback: Top 5 posts of 2012 | PedalWorks

Comments are closed.